Well, I have been neglectful from late 2013 until early 2016 to read up on my throwaway journals I still get, mostly Psych Times, Clinical Psych News, Psych Annals, and Current Psychiatry.  Probably because I have been running around Maryland and PA doing temp jobs and not home much, but, given the strong request to empty a foot tall box of “papers” that has been taking up space in the study for over a year plus, time to go thru it!

So far, not even random chance having tossed over 60% of them, and only have saved about 15 articles total, but, some have caught my eye, and thus my desire to note them.

Let’s start with one that some colleagues here have commented about in my prior bitches about EMR, and why this is part of the insidious agenda of Obamination-care to just f— up health care beyond recognition.

can give you some, but not all as have to subscribe, and won’t?

https://www.questia.com/magazine/1G1-452881779/10-ways-electronic-health-records-lead-to-burnout

Highlights are:  Lack of focus on the patient, no support for team care, small monitors and long sign in process, and while not agreeing with the last, underuse (i.e. abuse) of medical and nursing students, in there for trying to train, at least.

Leave you with this quote:  “That same study “found that primary care physicians were spending 38 hours a month after hours doing data entry work,” in other words “working a full extra week every month doing documentation after hours, between 7 p.m. and 7 a.m.,” said Dr. Sinsky, who is also an internist in Dubuque, Iowa.”

Next, another pet peeve of mine, Maintenance of Certification, MOC, and this from Richard Rosin MD in ClinPsychNews March 2016:

http://www.mdedge.com/clinicalpsychiatrynews/article/106748/practice-management/moc-mania-finding-way-forward

Makes one wonder why as much as antipsychiatry folk hate the field, why a growing number of us professionals hate the f—-s who run it as well!

“I also asked why my recent recertification in geriatric psychiatry, passed with flying colors, would be invalidated unless I recertified in general psychiatry. And I wanted to know why the same did not apply to child and adolescent psychiatrists. My exasperation increased to lorazepam-requiring levels, when I entered a bureaucratic labyrinth of fruitless attempts to obtain rational explanations for these anomalies from superiors in the higher echelons of the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology (ABPN). 

Responses, if I got them, were vague and referred to consensus at meetings by nameless committees. I was advised by one correspondent, who claimed to have been at one of the meetings, that there was to be an announcement in one of the newsletters I receive online from the American Association for Geriatric Psychiatry (AAGP). To date, there has been no mention of the issue, and the person who I was told by another person led the discussion could not recall that this topic had ever been discussed. (I have the correspondence to prove this.) He did cheerfully (I think) tell me that he had written both exams and that the process hadn’t been too onerous. I think he might have been trying to tell me that if he could do it without complaining, then so could everyone else.”

Why do I call the ABPN fuckers (I’ll say that last word fully for this next comment by Dr Rosin, and then have colleagues hope to chime in equally rude and vile):

“But the ABPN and other member boards are fighting back. MOC exams are alive, well, and exorbitantly priced. The application fee for the exam is $700 for a form that takes less than 5 minutes to fill in. The exam fee is $700. And the late application fee is an additional $500.”

Yeah, read it, $700 to fill out a form.  That is fucking extortion folks, plain, simple and horridly rude, as I hope to come across equally as well!

Oh, and to anyone out there being treated by someone over 60 years old, it is likely that older psychiatrist not only is exempt, but probably not as competent to be practicing, until proven otherwise as I don’t want to slight the 20% who either are taking the MOC out of courtesy or staying up to date appropriately.  But, I have met the fuckers who AREN’T up to date, and have had to take over patient care that is beyond woeful from these more often and thankfully retiring schmucks who have done enough damage, for some patients unfortunately for a life time!

Read the rest of Rosin’s column, it will not be a weekend wonderland…

Finally, Surendra Kelwala MD from Michigan wrote a letter to the Editor in the April 2016 issue of same throwaway, CPN, but I cannot access it on the Net, I guess letters that are not enthusiastic about DSM tend to be dismissed and lost in the recesses of Internet hell?

He was replying to Dr Daniel Carlat’s prior glowing note of the death of Robert Spitzer, so wonderfully credited for DSM 3 that forever biologicalized psychiatry hereforth (and yes, I know two of those last 3 words aren’t real words, but my blog!).

Any, henceforth the writer notes Dr Spitzer wasn’t so great when there was this 4th year chief resident at Washington U School of Med John Feighner, and some buddies who thought the same lame bullshit “idea”:  factor in only those complaints of the patient that could be asked with one line questions and that could be answered likewise, with Dr K adding this little pearl at the end, “eschewing anything complex, ambiguous, or lengthy that the patient had to say about his condition”.

Sums up what psychiatry has eagerly and pathetically ascribed to pursue beyond, and how convenient Big Pharma came up with cute Brand names of drugs to use for simple illnesses.

NOT!  Psychiatry is and always will be about treating illnesses that are complex, ambiguous, or lengthy, so, look at the pathetic leadershit of the APA and ABPN and wonder why these loser colleagues not only make tons of money, but stay in power until they die, because fuckers like this don’t retire, power and control is the lust that drives them!

Anyway, as the title notes, post in progress, so will get back to you if and when I find more articles or columns that are worthy of retaining…

_________________________________________

